Union and Environment

The United Republic of Tanzania is a union of two formerly sovereign States, namely the Republic of Tanganyika and the People’s Republic of Zanzibar. The two concluded a treaty of Union on 22nd April, 1964 consequent to which they become one Sovereign Republic from 26th April, 1964. The Union consists of two governments, one exercising powers over all union matters while exercising at the same time powers over non-union matters in and for Tanzania mainland. An autonomous government known as The Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar exercises powers over non-union matter...

Read More

Environment is essential for our development strategy for the reason of striking a balance between economic and social gains in fulfulling our needs without compromising those of the future generations.

The Government considers environmental management as a priority agenda as reflected in its various initiatives including National Environmental Policy (1997), Environmental Management Act (2004) and its Regulations, programmes and projects.

Public education and awareness are necessary for effe...

Read More



Dkt Jafo: Niwapongeze watumishi wa Ofisi ya Makamu wa Rais kwa ufanisi katika kazi
Waziri Dkt. Jafo: Nimefarijika sana na namna mnavyotekeleza miradi hii hapa Zanzibar
Jafo apongeza Jiji la Dodoma, DUWASA kwa kutekeleza maelekezo yake
Waziri Jafo: Miradi ifuate msharti ya Cheti cha Mazingira